chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Doris's Profile
Doris's family
Doris
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labour
faceAge:
57
homeHousehold Size:
2
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Doris's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent a larger portion of the first lumpsum in catering for the cost of building a kitchen, bought a chair at 10000 KES and used 11000 KES in buying cement and paint.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I no longer cook in the main house which has saved from the smoke that was affecting us before I built a kitchen.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I used my token payment to buy cushions (2100), plastic chairs 3900, a goat (2000), food (1000) and repay a loan (1000).
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to expand my house and build a pit latrine.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 5 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
First,I would like to seek treatment for my eye problem because I have a poor eyesight. Secondly, I would like to construct a pit latrine since I don't have one. Lastly,I would like to buy a donkey that will aid in transporting water from the river to my home.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am proudest of is that I own a small parcel of farm that I can plough inorder to get enough farm produce.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship has been to access clean cooking and drinking water since there is water scarcity in this area due to the fact that the main source of clean water is some few kilometers away from the village.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the afternoon when weaving sisal ropes because it keeps my mind occupied and it is also the main source of my livelihood.