chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Sheila's Profile
Sheila's family
Sheila
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
26
homeHousehold Size:
8
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Sheila's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I bought 20 iron sheets at 13,000 KES, round poles at 7,500 KES, a lorry of sand at 6,500 KES and labour at 4,500 KES so as to enlarge my house. I leased a farm at 3,000 KES and spent 2,500 KES on farming expenses then bought two bags of dry maize at 4,800 KES.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I able to spend under the same roof with my children as I now live in a bigger house that can comfortably contain my family and our belongings and therefore the shame has been taken from me ( my children used to request for sleeping places before)
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent my token payment on buying a mattress and cushions for my chairs.I also paid off a loan I had and bought maize.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to spend my upcoming lumpsum payment on plastering my house.I also want to lease a land and plough it.
 
Enrolled
access_time 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
Am planning to pay school fees for my children Build myself a new house because where our house is at is high water tabled so water gets inside the house all the time Planning also to rent a farm in order to get a big produce because around our area foo
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My current greatest achievement are my children which I know when they get good education from the sacrifices I make we will be able to at a different stage
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship is family life my husband has been stubborn and neglecting so it's me who always has to stand by and provide for my children because with him even though he works most of his focus is on the outside women
What is the happiest part of your day?
My happiest part of the day is when I wake up in the morning with my children then we go to the farm to look for a way of earning meals