GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Newsfeed > Penina's Profile
Penina's family
Subsistence farming
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
Follow to be updated on Penina's next check-in.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time almost 8 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent my first transfer on building an iron roofed house.I also bought Mkopa solar,paid medical bills for my grandchild and I,bought 1 sack of maize and food.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that I have a spacious iron roofed house.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I used my token payment to buy a solar lamp (7000) and food (3000).
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to build a bigger house and to buy clothes.
access_time over 8 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to buy a water tank which I will use to harvest and store rain water, purchase a solar panel and accessories for use in providing light for my family and if possible buy some materials which can be used to enlarge my house.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is having toiled in my farm for very many years and managing to get at least some produce which I use to feed myself and my grandchildren.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face right now is lack of a sustainable source of income for myself, this is because I can barely eke out a living due to ill health, often I am unable to consistently keep a job.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the evening after finishing any tasks that I had to carry out during the day. I often relax with my grandchildren and this makes me very happy.