chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > George's Profile
George's family
George
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
House construction
faceAge:
29
homeHousehold Size:
9
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on George's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I bought a heifer for 20,000 KES, seats at 15,000 KES, a table at 7,000 KES and two goats at 6,000 KES. The rest of the transfer was spent on daily household expenses.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The heifer will give me milk when it matures and together with the goats will give me manure to use in my farms. I did not have these animals before until I received the transfers from GD.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I bought two goats at 6000 KES, used 3000 KES to pay debt and the remaining 1000 KES on food.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to buy a piece of land with the upcoming lump-sum.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 5 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to buy household items and oxen for ploughing my farm, this is because I will be able to earn extra money from the farm.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is having bought iron sheets for my house, this was after I had worked very many casual jobs and saved the earnings.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I have is lack of a steady source of income , casual jobs are scarce and sometimes I end up getting no jobs.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of the day is in the morning when I wake up, because I am sure that I can look for some work and earn some money.