<#% elsif current_page? controller: 'newsfeed' and not current_page? action: 'show' %>
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Jackline's Profile
Jackline's family
Casual labour
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
Follow to be updated on Jackline's next check-in.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($494 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent 23,000 KES to pay school fees, school uniform cost 3,000 KES, a steel door for 8,500 KES, blanket for 3,000 KES, clothing for 2,000 KES, farming expenses cost 3,000 KES, bought M-kopa solar and paid first installment of 3,500 KES and paid up a debt of 1,500 KES. The rest was spent on other daily HH expenses.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I have been able to pay school fees for my children and now they are not coming back home frequently due to lack of school fees and I have also bought a solar panel to improve lighting in my house and the children can study well even at night.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
l spent larger amount of the transfer to buy bedding , l also use some money for table banking , and l also bought food.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
l plan to pay school fees.
access_time 6 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I would like to use part of the transfer to expand my house because it is small to accommodate my family. Secondly l would wish to pay household items . Lastly l would like to pay school fees for my son who is joining form one next year.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievements are that l have worked hard to educate my children and also bought household items.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship in life is poor source of income since I am left all alone to take care of my children.
What is the happiest part of your day?
My happiest part of the day is when having dinner with my children.