chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Elizabeth's Profile
Elizabeth's family
Elizabeth
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Street trading - food (self-employed)
faceAge:
26
workCampaign
FSD / Urban Youth
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time 5 days ago
check
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
I was able to start a clothing business using GD transfers which would not have been possible because I sold porridge for income before that, a business that would only sustain me for the day. I am also proud to have a house back in the village, all courtesy of GD transfers which enabled us to build. We have always wanted to build the house but could not due to low income, this forced us to avoid going home at all cost because we would have to sleep in a neighbour's house which is quite uncomfortable. All I have is nothing but gratitude to GD for turning my life around, God bless you.
Do you have any new or additional goals for your life?
Before receiving GD transfers, I supplied porridge in the nearby shopping centre. This was because I could not afford to rent a place to set up the business, so it was easy making the porridge in my house then supplying it to my customers. Now that I have another business which I started using GD transfers, I want to rent a small business place where I will be selling the clothes and making porridge. I will not stop supplying it to those who cannot make it to my shop, but I will also have a place for my customers who can come around to sit. Having them come around will also be a marketing strategy for the clothes.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
We had plans of constructing our own house back in the village as we never had one. With part of the first two transfers, we had bought some of the required construction materials and only needed a few more for the actual construction to begin. I, therefore, used part of the most recent transfer to buy the remaining materials and paid the construction workers who built the house. I also added more stock of the clothes I sell with part of the money then spent the rest on foodstuff.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
36800 KES ($367 USD)
access_time 3 months ago
attach_money
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
The biggest difference I can say I have is the fact that I sleep on a comfortable mattress. This has given me quality sleep and guarantees me enough rest. I wake up energetic and ready for the days hustle given that my nature of work involves a lot of walking. This was not the case because Initially, I had an old and thin mattress that felt like sleeping on the bed without any mattress. I used to wake up feeling even more fatigued. If you visit my house now, I have my glasses well displayed on my new cupboard. Unlike before they were stored under the bed.
Do you have any new or additional goals for your life?
My goal this year is to take my children to see their grandparents and bond with other members of the family. To be able to do that I have to finish the construction of my rural house. So this year most of my income together with that of my husband will be geared towards construction.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I have stayed in Nairobi for more than 5years now. During December holidays most people always travel back to their rural homes to spend time with their families but that has not been the case for my family. Back at home, my husband has not yet built a house. This has been a serious problem, my children do not know their grandparents and they keep on asking why we do not travel home like other families. So when I received my recent transfer, I sent my brother-in-law some amount to facilitate the purchase of iron sheets. I am planning to start the construction of my house, this means at the end of this year we will travel home and spend the holidays with family. Besides that, I also bought a new high-density mattress since the one I had was old and uncomfortable. The remaining amount I bought a cupboard to help me keep my glasses. Initially, I used to store them under my bed.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
20000 KES ($199 USD)
access_time 4 months ago
attach_money
 
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
My goals are now to expand my business and own a restaurant in an area like Kariobangi. Estate.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that my children have stayed in school without being sent home for school fees. I have also seen my business improve in terms of daily revenue and also struggles for daily needs like meals in my house have reduced.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent my transfers to expand my business, to treat my mother in hospital and to pay school fees for my two children aged eleven and four. I hawk clothes in Mathare during the day, and sell porridge in the evening in the same area. I have depended on this business for about four years now. My husband is a casual laborer who depends mostly on construction jobs. These jobs can be hard to come-by and he has not had work for a while now. Currently, we rely on my businesses. I paid school fees because we struggle a bit to pay school fees. I also invested part of the transfers in my business because we depend mostly on these businesses for our livelihood. I have seen the businesses do well since I added stock with the transfers that I received.
Describe the moment when you started receiving transfers. How did you feel?
I was in my house when I first saw the message. I woke up ion the morning and I reached for my phone to make a call to a friend. That is when I saw the message. I was very shocked and amazed as I had never received such an amount of money in my phone. I prepared breakfast for my family and I just sat there thinking of how I would spend the money.
 
Enrolled
access_time 7 months ago
 
What do you plan to do with the cash transfer?
The first thing I will use this money in is paying for my niece her school. When my sister passed away, I resumed the responsibility of paying her daughter's school fees which has been a challenge having to depend on my business of selling porridge alone. With this money in, her school fees puzzle is solve and she can proceed with her schooling with no worries. Secondly, I would like to purchase a sewing machine, to keep practising and perfecting my skills. When my father passed away, I couldn't proceed with my tailoring course due to lack of finances. In achieving this, I will be able to set up my own business that will generate income for me and help me improve my way of living. Lastly, I will consider building my mother a house in the upcountry. She hasn't been able to construct a home for herself after my father's death. With the help of my husband, I will be able to use part of this money to help her achieve this one dream she has longed to fulfil.
Describe your biggest worry.
My top concern is my family especially my mother because my mother has really struggled to bring me to the level I am right now. She constantly speaks of how much she had to fight for us to survive through life even when my father was alive and offered no help to her. I work hard to try meet her daily needs and i wouldn't want her to want for anything in life. I fear to let her down by not being there for her whenever she needs help or to see her suffering.
What are your greatest ambitions?
In life i have desired to to be a teacher. This dream was cut shot due to lack of finances to carter for my school fees. I have a passion for teaching and helping people develop skills that see them to better lives in future.
Describe your usual day. How do you spend your time?
I normally wake up and begin cleaning my house,i take breakfast then relax with my children in the house. I own a business of selling porridge which normally begins at 3pm by me cooking porridge, packaging it and go off to sell until 7pm. I then return home, prepare supper, eat and retire to bed. In my free time, which I rarely have expect some of the morning hours, I relax in the house with my children.