GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Grace's Profile
Grace's family
Grace
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
22
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($472 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I spent the whole of the transfer to start business of making bricks and selling them, this business has really improve my standard of living since l am able to eat well pay for my children school fee comfortably without too much strangle as compared to before.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($491 USD)
access_time over 7 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent my second cash transfer on buying a goat 2500 KES, 1 sac of maize 3000 KES, mattress 6500 KES, steel door 7500 KES, 24 pieces of iron sheets 14,400 KES, labor charge 5000 KES, cedar poles 2600 KES, round poles 3120 KES, nails 2400 KES and paid school fees 4000 KES.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that 2 I have built a big house and paid for my child school fees.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time almost 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
We spent 4,000 KES on expenses during payment of bride price, spent 1,000 KES to pay school fees, added 2,000 KES to our business (brick making) and bought a bag of maize for 2,800 KES.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
We are planning to have a new home and construct a bigger and better house.
 
Enrolled
access_time almost 8 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
Am planning to use part of the money to pay dowry then, part of it I start a brick making business then buy building materials and build a bigger three roomed semi-permanenet house since the one I live in is one room and it's small.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My greatest achievement is building this house since I had a very small mabati house.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship is I don't have a stable income hence it's so hard making ends meet.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when I work in my farm since I'll be able to get food.