chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Polin's Profile
Polin's family
Polin
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Small business
faceAge:
30
homeHousehold Size:
5
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Polin's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 2 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I bought 30 iron sheets at 20,000 KES, wall poles at 7,500 KES, roofing poles at 6,000 KES nails at 1,200 KES, paid 10,000 KES labour charge, bought a sack of maize at 3,000 KES, gave 1,000 KES to my husband to use as transport back to his work place then used the rest on food for the workers.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
Am now having a good and very spacious house that accommodates my visitors comfortably.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 2 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I paid 5000 KES of my token payment on medical bills for my husband then I spent 2500 KES on school uniforms for my 2 children and 2500 KES on a sack of maize.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to build a semi-permanent house using the whole of my upcoming lumpsum payment.
 
Enrolled
access_time almost 3 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to buy sand, cement, timber, round poles, nails and iron roofing sheets which I will use to build a better house for my family.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is having tilled my farm and managed to get a bumper harvest, this means that I have food security.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face right now is lack of enough money to build a better house for my family.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is around midday when I relaxing after finishing my daily chores.