chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Eunice's Profile
Eunice's family
Eunice
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
55
homeHousehold Size:
5
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Eunice's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent 24,000 KES on school fees and 600 KES to do shopping for my daughter. I also spent 1,000 KES on school uniform, I bought 10 iron sheets at 7,500 KES. Farming expenses cost me 1,500 KES, one and a half bags of maize at 4,500 KES and the rest was spent on daily house hold expenses.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I have been able to pay school fees for my children since my spouse passed on some years back and I had been worried on how I would pay their school fees. I am now at peace because they are consistently going to school and the shame of staying at home with them has been lifted off me.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I used 8,000 KES to pay my daughter in high school fees. I also spent the remaining amount on family foodstuffs.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to enlarge my house because it is too small. I'm also planning to pay my daughter in high school fees with the remaining amount.
 
Enrolled
access_time almost 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend my transfer on paying school fees for my child who is in secondary school, I will use part of my transfer to fence my compound to keep hippos away as they really disturb as when they come from the lake and the remaining amount of the transfer I will use it to build a bigger house as my house is small and am not able to accommodate my family and guest.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am proudest of is that I was left a widow when my husband died and I have struggle to keep my children in school on my own without depending on other people.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face in my life is in terms of having difficulty when it comes to ploughing my farm as the cow that I used to plough my farm with died and I usually plant late when others had already prepared their land.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when I go out in the morning to plough my farm and prepare it for planting crops, I feel happy to know that I will have food to feed my family when I harvest the crops.