chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Christina's Profile
Christina's family
Christina
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Raising livestock
faceAge:
61
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Christina's next check-in.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($516 USD)
access_time 16 days ago
attach_money
 
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
The moment I received the money from GiveDirectly I was really very happy and thankful for the great help that we were receiving. We had a lot of plans and we strongly believed that the money we had received would finish a better part of it.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
The biggest difference in my life since I receive these transfers is that now i got to harvest rain water from the roof of my house. Now I I have access to clean drinking water.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent my first transfer to buy some building materials to use in building a spacious house for my family. I settled on this since I did not have a good house and a kitchen. I am glad because I currently live in my good house and I have a better kitchen
 
Enrolled
access_time 4 months ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
My first priority upon receiving this money is building a new iron roofed house since this small hut i live in leaks in water whenever it rains. I also intend to buy a dairy cow that will provide milk for sale hence an assured daily source of income. I will use the remaining part of my transfer to set up poultry keeping project whose proceeds will supplement that of selling milk hence improving my living standards now that i will be able to afford decent meals as well as proper health care aside from other basic needs.
What is the happiest part of your day?
Due to my deteriorating health attributed to old age, waking up every morning to see my grand children who come over to keep me company each morning when their parents have left for work is what makes me happy
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
At my old age, i can no longer engage in tasking activities such as menial jobs due to my deteriorating health. I depend on selling 0.5 litres of milk produce my only cow that earns me ksh 15 daily. This is barely enough to provide any of my needs hence i spend all the money to buy food for one meal daily, which is the biggest hardship i face.