GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Hermans's Profile
Hermans's family
Hermans
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
63
homeHousehold Size:
6
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Hermans's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($494 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I have built a permanent toilet with 38000 KES, bought a fencing wire 10000 KES and still saving 2000 KES.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my life is having built a toilet and buying fencing wire for my homestead.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent 4,000 KES to dig a pit latrine, bought bricks for 4,000 KES and two bags of cement at 1,600 KES.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to buy poles and barbed wire so as to fence my home, pay bride price, pay school fees (secondary school) for my children and buy seats.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 8 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend my transfer on building a toilet as we don't have one currently, I will pay school fees for my two kids who are in secondary school,my home is not fenced so I will use part of the cash on buying wire mesh so that we can fence it and to dig a borehole so that we can have water that we can use at home.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am proudest of is that I am a singer and it has helped me in many ways like paying school fees for my kids and additional cash for my farm.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face in my life is that my income is very low and living standards have gone high so it is a struggle for me to afford certain things like food for my family.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when I go to compose songs and play them in the local clubs in the evening, this makes me happy as I will be able to earn additional income.