GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Linet's Profile
Linet's family
Linet
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Other
faceAge:
20
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($468 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I spent my third transfer on setting my own compound at 36,000 KES, used 12,000 KES to pay my dowry.
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life is different than it would have been if I never been if I never received the transfer in that I now have a decent iron roofed house that doesn't leak, unlike before when I used to be rained on. Am also now legally married to my husband hence I have a sense of belonging.
In your opinion, what does GiveDirectly do well, and what does it not do well?
In my opinion, GiveDirectly does well by giving the cash directly to the recipients without involving the local authorities who have the tendency of deducting a bigger share for themselves.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I want to construct my own home so i spent my second transfer to buy twenty two iron sheets that cost me 12050 KES,I bought a cow worth 15000 KES that will be used to pay my dowry,I bought timber that cost me 8000 KES and furniture that cost me 5000 KES.I have 12950 KES that i am yet to spend during the construction of my house.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my life is that i used to live in a grass thatched house but now i will have an iron roofed house.I never used to do any business but now i am a fish monger and i am able to feed my family too.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I bought a set of seats and cushions @4,500KES, a table @900 and a set of seat covers @1000KES.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I plan to build an iron roofed house, pay my dowry and buy chicken and cattle for keeping.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
We are planning to spend our transfer on iron sheets, timber, poles and also pay for labour so that we may build a better house and move out of our current house which is too small, grass thatched, and leaking. We will then spend the rest of the transfer on household items, mainly furniture, and also food.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am proudest of is having my own house.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I have faced in my life is lack of food, because I don't have a steady stream of income and my husband also relies only on casual labour that he sometimes does and sometimes doesn't.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the evening when my husband is back in the house and he has brought home something that I may cook for the family.