chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Florence's Profile
Florence's family
Florence
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
56
homeHousehold Size:
4
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Florence's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent 38,500 KES to construct a house for my son, bought a mattress for 3,500 KES, some 5 iron sheets for 2,500 KES, a blanket for 1,000 KES and a bed for 2,000 KES. The rest was spent on buying food.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
My son now has a place to sleep and does not have to wonder around at night looking for where to sleep.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent my token payment on buiiding an iron roofed house for my son.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to spend my upcoming lumpsum payment on leasing a plot of land for ploughing.I also want to buy a cow and build a toilet.
 
Enrolled
access_time almost 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to construct a bigger house and buy a mattress and bed. I also plan to build a latrine. Since I don't own adequate land for agricultural purposes, I plan to use part of the transfer to buy land.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement that make me proud is that I have managed to buy a cow which provides me with milk.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I have faced is that I don't have a adequate land that I can use for agriculture thereby resulting into inadequate harvest. The end result has always been hunger.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning when am able to get to work.