chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Kamone's Profile
Kamone's family
Kamone
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Forestry (e.g rubber tapping)
faceAge:
42
workCampaign
Kenya Standard Remote
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
53150 KES ($493 USD)
access_time 4 days ago
check
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
Being a widow I was the sole breadwinner for my family, the only hope was charcoal vending that was not earning me enough income even to feed my family. So most of the time we use to go without food. Because of Givedirectly I was able to acquire enough food, starting livestock rearing I now own two cows and sleeping comfortably with my child on a modern bed.
In your opinion, what does GiveDirectly do well, and what does it not do well?
Givedirectly has done so well for sending the cash transfer. Being a widow I was confused on how I will be able to raise my kids. I thank Givedirectly for the Aid.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent my transfer to acquire a cow for $150. This was to improve my livestock rearing which I had started with my first transfer. I also bought a mattress and bed for $120, I was sleeping on the traditional bed which was not comfortable and my kids were spending their nights on the floor. I also purchase school uniforms, books and paying fees for my 5 children.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($500 USD)
access_time 5 months ago
attach_money
 
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
I learned that I had recived the message notification from GiveDirectly that I had received my first transfer at exactly 2 PM. I was overwhelmed with joy because I knew I would finally send my children to school.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
A lot has happened ever since I received my first transfer but the fact that I cleared the fees for my children is the biggest difference in my daily life. Previously they used to sent home more often because of the balance of the fees that had accumulated. This used to stress me as a parent and I felt like I had failed them as well. The little money I got from the casual jobs were not enough to pay school fees for my children and still provide basic needs such as food. I am now happy because after setting the balance, they can study without any distraction. Getting good education is an assurance that it will change their future generation.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent part of my first transfer on buying two dairy cows worthy of KES 30000. I have been yearning to keeping them for quite a long time but I could not afford them because they are very expensive. To add to that, I cleared some school fees arrears for my children and bought them new uniforms, stationery eg books, pens. With the remaing amount of money, I am using it to buy enough foodstuff for my family and we are currently taking two meals a day.
 
Enrolled
access_time 7 months ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
I am a housewife who has wished to practice livestock keeping but due to financial challenges, this dream has come to pass.I plan to spend 60,000 shillings to purchase 2 indigenous dairy cows This is going to generate income for my family. The money I will be making from the sale of milk will be enough to cater to all our basic needs such as food. In a day I can sell 7 liters of milk and make 200 shillings. I will spend the remaining amount to clear fees areas for my 2 sons who finished secondary school education but are yet to acquire their certificates so that they can proceed to University. I hope they will be employed and support my family in future.
What is the happiest part of your day?
My happiest part of the day is in the evening. It is at this time when I have time with my family and rest. After a long day of doing casual jobs e.g tilling peoples lands.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
Lack of a good source of income. I am a housewife who does casual jobs such as tilling people piece of land during rainy seasons. This job is temporary which earns me 200 shillings . Which is not enough to cater to all our needs such as food. Sometimes,I wash people clothes too.