<#% elsif current_page? controller: 'newsfeed' and not current_page? action: 'show' %>
chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Peter's Profile
Peter's family
Peter
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
57
homeHousehold Size:
6
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Peter's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($494 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I was able to buy building bricks that cost 7,000/- and the remaining 3000/- I used for tranportation.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I have see a great difference because I was able to buy chairs and cows and I am also able to renovate my house
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I bought two lorries of clay soil at 7,000KES, added some money to the remaining amount and bought one mattress at 3,500KES.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I want to buy two bulls for farming.
 
Enrolled
access_time almost 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I plan to spend the transfer to buy livestock that I will keep and sell at a later date for an income. I also plan to spend the transfer to renovate my house which is in bad state. I also plan to spend the transfer to construct a rental house in the nearby shopping centre where I own a land.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that I have been able to build a house for my family.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I have faced in life is that I don't have a reliable source of income.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning when am in the farm weeding.