chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Florence's Profile
Florence's family
Florence
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
46
homeHousehold Size:
4
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Florence's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I paid 23,000 KES school fee for my two children, bought 10 bags of cement at 8,000 KES, a lorry of sand at 6,000 KES, two lorries of clay soil at 4,000 KES, paid 7,000 KES labor charge then added some of my money to the rest of the cash and bought one sofa set at 8,000 KES.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
Am now very happy when I see the great things I have achieved from this transfer.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent 5000 KES on 2 steel windows, 2000 KES on a relative's school fees and 3000 KES on food.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I plan on buying a steel door, a sofa set and paying school fees for my child.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 5 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I plan to spend the transfer to install electricity in my house. I also plan to spend the transfer to complete college fees for my son. I also plan to spend the transfer to start a business that will provide me with an income.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that I have been able to build a kitchen and a new house. I was able to do this through the little money that I had saved in our local table banking group.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I have faced is that I lack a stable source of income that can enable me to pay school fees for my son and provide basic needs for my children.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the evening when am having dinner with my family. They always make me a happy mother and proud of them.