chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Rose's Profile
Rose's family
Rose
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Small business
faceAge:
40
homeHousehold Size:
4
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Rose's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($495 USD)
access_time 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent my first lumpsum transfer on buying iron sheets and timber. I still have 15,000 KES.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that I am soon having a big good house.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I acquired school requirements for my daughter who is poised to join secondary school. I also spent the remaining amount on food.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to build a house since my house was recently damaged by rains. I want to spend the other part of it on household items like bedding, furniture.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 3 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I would like to use part of the transfer to pay school fees for my daughter who is joining form one next year. Secondly l would wish to build a house because my house is in a very bad condition. Finally l would like to expand my business to generate more
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that l struggled to up bring my children after the death of my husband.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship in life is poor shelter since my house is in a very bad condition.
What is the happiest part of your day?
My happiest of the day is in the morning after working in the farm.