<#% elsif current_page? controller: 'newsfeed' and not current_page? action: 'show' %>
chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Everline's Profile
Everline's family
Everline
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Other
faceAge:
37
homeHousehold Size:
5
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Everline's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($495 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent 13,600 KES to buy 20 iron sheets, poles at 3,500 KES, soil to fill up the walls at 2,000 KES, nails at 700 KES and paid for labour at 3,000 KES to construct my new house. I also bought a bag of dry maize at 2,600 KES, paid a group savings loan of 7,500 KES, bought a bed at 4,300 KES and mattress at 3,500 KES and then bought clothes for my children at 1,500 KES.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The house I lived in earlier was quite small and with old walls. We were quite uncomfortable spending in it, but now I live in a big spacious house that can well fit my family and our property and we are assured of their safety.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent 5,000KES on buying seats, 2,000KES on dry maize for consumption. I also contributed towards my nephew's funeral.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I plan to extend my house to create more space because it is currently small. I also plan to buy cement and cement the floor of my house, and build an iron roofed house for my son.
 
Enrolled
access_time almost 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to buy a cow so I can get milk from it. I will then buy sand and cement so that I build a house, the remainder of the transfers I will use to pay school fees for my children.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement that I am proudest of is having built my house, this is because when my spouse died, my house burnt down but I managed to make sisal, sell them and build this house.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I face right now is lack of enough money to provide basic needs for my children, since my spouse died and left us with nothing.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of the day is when I am relaxing around midday and having lunch, this makes me happy because most of the time I am with friends too.