GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Newsfeed > Dorothy's Profile
Dorothy's family
Casual labour
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
Follow to be updated on Dorothy's next check-in.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 7 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent the first lumpsum in buying building materials (iron sheets, nails, timber , windows and door) at 36800 KES, bought chairs at 4000 KES, paid school fee of 1800 KES, opened a business with 3000 KES and used the rest in buying food.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I have a business which provides me with daily income and also keeps me busy.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 7 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I bought 3 goats (6000), supper-drum and sufurias (2200), paid fees (900) and food (800).
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to build a new house and organize for payment of my dowry.
access_time almost 8 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
We would like to build our own house since we don't have one.We have been living in a rental house for quite a long time.My spouse would also like to pay dowry to my parents.Lastly,we would like to buy household items like furniture,beddings and some utensils.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that I own sufficient farm produce that is enough to feed my family.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship has been to live without my own house.I have been renting this house since 2005 and sometimes I find it hard to raise money to pay rent.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning when cleaning my compound as I make sure that everything is in the right place because I enjoy staying in a clean compound.