chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Sidi's Profile
Sidi's family
Sidi
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
23
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Preparing Payments
attach_money
 
Follow to be updated on Sidi's next check-in.
 
Enrolled
access_time 1 month ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
For many years, it has been my desire to build a better house for my children. Sadly, this has not happened because of financial constraints given that my husband is a casual laborer and his income is hardly enough to feed the family. At the moment, we live under a leaking roof, a situation that has subjected my children to cold every time it rains. Receiving this money, therefore, means a better and warm house for my children because I will be able to construct one for them. Again, am concerned about their education, and as such, I will invest part of my transfers in livestock raising. With this, am certain my children will not encounter any financial hindrance in attaining the highest level of education they desire.
What is the happiest part of your day?
Evening is the happiest part of my day. This is because most part of the day is packed with activities here and there. From attending to household chores to taking care of the children. It is even worst when am out there in the forest burning charcoal. As such, it is only in the evening when I get time to rest, and that makes it the happiest part of my day.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
Lack of a reliable source of income has been the biggest hardship in life. At the moment, my husband works as a casual laborer in Mombasa. His is an on and off kind of job, something that is unreliable and the income is not sustaining at all, not even enough to meet his travel expenses home. Most of the time, he stays away for up four months. As a result, I engage in charcoal burning business in order to meet other needs of the family. Juggling between housework and this job is frustrating. Most of the time am exhausted since the job is laborious and male-dominated. Am glad this money will bring him closer to the family. We plan to assist each other is raising livestock for sale.