chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Daudi's Profile
Daudi's family
Daudi
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Motorcycle or bicycle taxi
faceAge:
36
homeHousehold Size:
9
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Daudi's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time over 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I bought 14 iron sheets at 9,100 KES, 18 roofing poles at 2,700 KES, 13 wall poles at 2,340, nails at 1,760 KES and paid for labour at 2,500 KES to enlarge my house. I also bought a water tank at 3,000 KES, bought seats at 10,000 KES and paid school fees for 12,000 KES.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I have been able to enlarge my house which was previously very small and now my children have a room where they can comfortably sleep and keep their belongings.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I used a portion of the transfer to buy two mattresses(one for my spouse and I while the other one for my children). I also purchased some cooking utensils with the remaining amount.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to buy a new motorbike for transport business. Currently I have some 40,000 KES at hand and will buy the motorbike immediately I receive the transfer and will no longer ride another person's motorbike again.
 
Enrolled
access_time almost 4 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
We have planned to buy another motorcycle and expand my house and buy some beddings for my children since they are not sleeping in good materials
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement has been taking my children to school with the little money I make from the motorcycle.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship was one I lost some of my children and not being able to provide for my children well.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when I go home and find my children have something to eat.