GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Newsfeed > Jumaa's Profile
Jumaa's family
Subsistence farming
Kenya Basic Income
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
Follow to be updated on Jumaa's next check-in.
14th Payment
Transfer Amount
3470 KES ($23 USD)
access_time 2 months ago
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
I have always held a desire to start a vegetable-selling business, but financial constraints, especially regarding food, have hindered me from pursuing this dream. I am glad that the recent rainy season enabled successful farming, and we were able to harvest enough food to sustain my family for the next few months. This provides me with an opportunity to invest the cash transfers into the business, and I am excited to take the first steps. My long-term vision is to expand this business into a kiosk, but for now, I want to establish a strong foundation. The income generated from this business will help cover school fees for my seven children and ensure they have enough food, even after the cash transfers cease.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
As the primary breadwinner for my family, I rely on occasional jobs in house construction or charcoal making to provide for my wife and seven children. However, these jobs are highly unpredictable, and even when I do find work, the income I earn is often insufficient to cover our basic needs like food and school fees for my children. Fortunately, the cash transfers have lightened this burden by enabling me to meet these essential expenses. From the recent cash transfers, I allocated $8 to reduce the school fee debt for my children, which had accumulated from previous terms. I make it a priority to clear these debts to ensure that my kids do not miss classes, and I'm grateful that the cash transfers have made this possible. I also invested $9 in purchasing three hens and a goat worth $32. My main objective in acquiring these animals is to rear them, allow them to reproduce, and eventually sell them to cover my children's school fees. There was also a period when both my wife and I fell ill, and I used $25 to pay for our hospital bills. I'm relieved that we have fully recovered. With the remaining funds, I settled the debts at the shop where I had obtained food on credit over the past three months when we had not yet harvested from our farms.
10th Payment
Transfer Amount
3470 KES ($25 USD)
access_time 7 months ago
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
The condition of my house is run-down and the iron sheets on the roof have many holes, which results in significant water leakage during rainfall. In the past, I had to endure harsh cold weather and deal with property damage due to rainwater seeping into the house. My primary objective for this year is to achieve a major milestone by completely renovating the roof. I intend to purchase iron sheets gradually until I have enough to replace the damaged ones. Additionally, apart from renovating my house, I plan on using my monthly funds to pay for my children's school fees, and I aim to clear any outstanding balances by the end of the year.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
My wife and I are peasant farmers who rely on selling surplus food crops in the market for our livelihood. Unfortunately, this has become challenging due to persistent drought conditions over the past six years. To make ends meet, I have taken on manual labor jobs like constructing mud houses and burning wood for charcoal. However, the income from these jobs is insufficient to support my family of twelve, including nine children who depend on me to pay their school fees. When I received my April transfers, I prioritized clearing my children's school fees debt of $4, which was mandatory for them to sit for their end-of-term exams. With the remaining funds, I purchased five packets of 2 kg of maize flour for $9, providing much-needed food for my family. The $25 remaining was used to purchase a goat, which I consider an investment and a fallback plan in case of unforeseen financial challenges. Despite the hardships, I was grateful to have the means to address my family's immediate needs.
6th Payment
Transfer Amount
3470 KES ($28 USD)
access_time 10 months ago
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
Due to the fact that I don't generate much money from the charcoal I burn for sale, providing for the requirements of the eleven of us in the family has been difficult. Prior to my enrollment in the program, the kids may frequently be sent home for not making their tuition payments on time. Since I joined the program, I am relieved that this is not the case because the monthly remittances have made it easier for them to pay for their educational expenditures. This year, I want to make sure that I pay their tuition on time so that they have plenty of time to study. In addition, I want to purchase a goat and three hens this year to raise as a future investment.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I have nine kids. Seven of them are in school and two are still very young. The $40 I make from my charcoal business each month is insufficient to meet all of our demands, including our children's educational costs. Enrolling in the program was the finest move because the transfers increase our household's income. The transfers I got over the past three months covered $45 of their school-related expenses and $39 of our family's food costs. As an additional investment for the future, I spent a total of $18 for six hens that I intend to raise.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
3050 KES ($25 USD)
access_time 1 year ago
In your opinion, what does GiveDirectly do well, and what does it not do well?
Givedirectly has made my village develop. Most children are going to school which gives me hope.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
My wife and I make and sell charcoal at the nearby market. I have ten children, nine are still in school and one is married. Taking care of them is a challenge but the money from the charcoal business mostly sustains us. I used the recent transfer to buy maize flour at $19, school fees at $4.6, and two chickens at $6.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
1200 KES ($10 USD)
access_time over 1 year ago
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
I was at home with my wife on the day I received my transfer. It was late at night, and I had just returned from the site where I had worked all day. Because I was exhausted, all I wanted was a good night's sleep. Surprisingly, after checking her phone, she smiled at me. Before I could ask her what was wrong, she announced that our transfers had been sent. I was overjoyed when I checked my phone. I regained my strength and joined her in celebrating the Lord's goodness.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
Because my main challenge in life had been my inability to support my family, the first transfer enabled me to purchase food that would last us several days. This has helped me because we haven't missed a meal as a family since then. It has allowed me to concentrate on my casual job of making charcoal for sale with less stressful moments. Without the initial transfer, I would not have noticed any difference in my life. I am extremely grateful to GiveDirectly.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
Because I do not have a steady source of income, I resorted to charcoal making. However, the funds I raise from it are insufficient to support my family. As a result, I occasionally miss meals for my family. As a result, as soon as I received my transfer, I spent KES 800 on food for my family. I am relieved that we have had some food in the house since then. Furthermore, my other income has been used to supplement other family needs. Finally, I spent KES 400 on two hens to help me achieve my goal of poultry farming.
access_time over 1 year ago
What does receiving this money mean to you?
When I get this money I want to start a business selling livestock mostly chicken and goats to be able to earn good amount of money. I have been depending on building simple traditional structures for people who can pay me averagely 9000 KES for each. It used to be lucrative but that type of housing is no longer in market meaning I hardly get clients. As a backup I do burn and sell charcoal during those hard times to be able to support my ten children. My wife also sells firewood to help but it's not enough.
What is the happiest part of your day?
It's been a rainy season for about two months now and I'm so happy about that. It all means that we're able to get water nearby from a water pan and also continue farm work as we've been planting a lot. Food prices have also been low due to the fact that vegetables have been flooding the markets. Generally when the rainy season is on life is a little easier.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest challenge is lack of reliable sources of income. This has affected so badly my ability to pay school fees for my children. I currently have eight children in primary school each paying fees of 1900 KES per academic term. I have been struggling a lot to raise that amount and even right now, five of them are out of school to collect fees areas.