chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Beryl's Profile
Beryl's family
Beryl
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Janitor/porter (works for others)
faceAge:
22
workCampaign
FSD / Urban Youth
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($495 USD)
access_time 5 months ago
check
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
I have managed to enrol for a course on fashion and design which has been my dream ever since I was young, all thanks to GD transfers. Before GD came enrolled me into the program, I was only working as a househelp which I opted for after completing my high school because my mother could not afford to raise money for my college fees. I am very happy now because I am taking a course that will change my life as it will give a stable and decent income. These transfers have also enabled me to assist my mother with payment of my sister's school fees and reduced the overall burden she has all which would not be possible without GD.
Do you have any new or additional goals for your life?
I want to take a course on catering once I am done with my current course on fashion and design. This is because I want to have a backup way of earning money during the slow season on the fashion and design industry such as at the beginning of the year when most people have school fee obligations. I will use what will be left of my savings after taking that course to buy the necessary equipement required to set up a tailoring shop of my own which is my biggest dream.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I have only used a small portion of my most recent transfer to clear my college fees for this term and saved the rest on M-shwari for future plans. I am currently taking a course in fashion and design which I was able to register for using GD transfers. I had always wanted to take this course because it is very marketable as people never stop investing in themselves, but with the little money I earned from casual and household jobs I did before, it only remained to be a dream.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
36800 KES ($367 USD)
access_time 6 months ago
attach_money
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
A large sum of the money I received went to my savings account. I decided to save it in order to avoid running into fees problems. My biggest aim is to complete my course in fashion and design so that I will have a business. I intend to use the savings to p[ay school fees and maybe use it to start my business once I complete the course. Having the savings very assuring that my dream will come true, I am so happy that GiveDirectly has ensured that my learning will be complete and I will have skills to use to earn a living. This is a huge difference that would not exist if I had not received the money form GiveDIrectly.
Do you have any new or additional goals for your life?
I plan to save some money towards the next payment for school fees to ensure that I complete my course in fashion and design.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
When I received my recent transfers, I took part of the money and paid my school fees. I am currently in Huruma Polytechnique where I am pursuing fashion and design. I then used a part of the money to buy learning materials including the required attire for attending the workshop. Another amount went to paying a loan that I had taken from a friend. I also used another amount on my mother. She requested me to assist her with money that she needed to use in the household to buy foodstuffs and household items and saved the rest.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
20000 KES ($200 USD)
access_time 7 months ago
attach_money
 
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
My goals are too complete the training and be a fashion designer. I will then open a shop from which I will showcase and sell my work to earn an income. I will expand te h business buy putting enough materials for making clothes in order to attract many customers and succeed in the business.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
Becoming a fashion designer is my ultimate growth goal. This is my passion and an income earner. To get the skills, I have to attend a training in which I must pay a fee. This was not possible without GiveDirectly. Receiving the transfers is enabling me to pay the fee and start the training. I am well on my way to success and this feels like a dream being actualized at the right time. Thank you so much GiveDirectly.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent my recent transfer on first, paying my college fees. I recently enrolled for a course to be trained in fashion designing. In connection to this, I used a part of the transfer on buying personal effects at about KES 5000. Secondly, I used the money I received on paying school fees for my sister who is also in school. The KES 3000 that I paid for her completed the required payment to keep her in school the entire term. Finally, I used another KES 2000 on shopping foodstuffs for the household. I bough maize flour, wheat flour, rice sugar, cooking fat and soap. These items will last me for some time and allow me to concentrate my efforts on the training instead of looking for jobs to cater for these needs.
Describe the moment when you started receiving transfers. How did you feel?
I felt like my dream of becoming a fashion designer was brought closer. Growing up here inculcate in me a desire to be a good clothes maker. I had to take training in order to have the skills. It was too expensive but getting the money fromGiveDirectly was a miracle to enable me to meet my goal.
 
Enrolled
access_time 10 months ago
 
What do you plan to do with the cash transfer?
I want to invest in education. I cleared high school last year, I want to pursue a course in catering. I want to learn some basic skills in cooking and baking. Thus will come in handy when I open my own hotel. I also want to prepare meals that are not common in Mathare. Secondly, I want to open a hotel business. This is where I will get my income, be able to assist my mother in boosting her business and even build a house for her back in the village. Lastly, I want to invest in my sisters' education. My mother has struggled so much in paying our school fees, and my sisters are constantly chased out of school. I want to be able to see that they study smoothly.
Describe your biggest worry.
My top concern is not meeting my daily needs, I worry about house rent and how I can pay my school fees. My parents at times lack enough money to cater for all our needs including education. Thus we are constantly chased out of school.
What are your greatest ambitions?
I want to build my mom a house. I want to be educated and later give back to the community by educating other girls here in Mathare on savings and proper family planning methods. Many girls are not free with their parents, they do not discuss on ways to avoid early pregnancy, thus I want to be someone they can approach and talk to about such matters.
Describe your usual day. How do you spend your time?
I wake up in the morning, do my house chores,prepare breakfast and later go for enterprenueral trainings at Dream girls foundation. After the training I go back home, prepare lunch and after taking my lunch, I visit my friends. Later I go home take care of my younger siblings, prepare supper and later rest. In my free time, I play basketball, read novels and catch up with my friends.