GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Jumwa's Profile
Jumwa's family
Jumwa
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labour
faceAge:
45
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
53150 KES ($517 USD)
access_time almost 4 years ago
check
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
I was really troubled since I could not raise my children's school fees timely. Had it not been GiveDirectly's financial support, then my children's studies would have been interrupted severally. The money has helped me to pay for them timely and this has given me a peace of mind because I can now prepare to raise for the next terms fees. Also, I am now living in a decent iron roofed house, courtesy of GiveDirectly. Lastly I also own a cow that I am keeping in my homestead. Soon I will be getting milk from it for my family's consumption.
In your opinion, what does GiveDirectly do well, and what does it not do well?
As they had earlier educated us, GiveDirectly has done well in giving us this transfer without any conditions. I feel this gave us the freedom to plan for this money effectively and used it well to improve on our lives. I don't see anything that GiveDirectly does not do well.
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent part of my second transfer to buy building materials in order to build a new house. I purchased iron sheets, building poles and paid the mason for his job. Apart from this, my son had completed his high school thus I took KES 20000 to enroll him in a college. I also took KES 15000 to pay for my daughter's school fees for her to continue with her studies without any interruptions in High school. I spent the remaining amount to buy foodstuffs.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($544 USD)
access_time almost 5 years ago
attach_money
 
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that I now stay in a decent place. I had been staying in a grass thatched house because I was stuck with finishing the new house. I used to push the construction process bit by bit whenever I got the ability to. I am glad that, I got the transfer which was channeled towards fixing my roof. Staying in my new house has brought me peace of mind since I do not worry about thatching it more often like I used to do with my grass-thatched house.
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
I felt very happy the moment I received the transfer. It was around 4.00 pm. I normally wake up very early to prepare breakfast before I go to the farm. This day was just a bit different because when I scrolled my phone just to know the time, I found a message from Give Directly. I was so happy and felt like screaming and shouting with joy but I tried to stay calm. I knew that this money was going to help me meet my long awaited goals.
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent part of my transfer on purchasing a dairy cow. I normally have bulls, therefore, my plan was to have this cow so that they will reproduce together and have more cattle. I am hopeful that I will get milk in the process which will save me from taking black tea. I can't afford milk at the moment therefore if everything goes well, I will earn more income by selling milk. I also bought iron sheets which I used in fixing the roof of my house. I started building the house last year but I was unable to finish it due to lack of funds. Finishing it really makes me feel proud. I am glad that I stay in a decent house because I had been living in a grass thatched one since I had not gotten enough money to fix the roof of the house. In addition to that, I also paid school fees for my child who had stayed for one year at home due to lack of fees. I am glad that I finally got the means of paying the school fees arrears. My child managed to step in college which is my pride as a parent.
 
Enrolled
access_time 5 years ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
Receiving this money means that I will be able to educate my two elderly children up to college level.Once they are done,I believe that they will be in a better position to get better jobs to sustain themselves and also help in educating the rest of their siblings who are still in primary level. In order to achieve this,I plan to spend my transfer in reviving my charcoal selling business so that the income generated can provide me with sufficient funds to educate them.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the evening when I am resting after a hard days work in the farm and also tending to other household chores like cooking ,fetching water and firewood to run the home which is very hectic.This is because all this resources are hard to come by in our village and I am forced to travel very far some times to acquire them.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
Family wrangles and domestic violence directed towards my family and I by my in laws has been the greatest hardship that I have faced in my life. For a very long time,my brothers in law have been so much against my household and any development that we have tried to engage.The situation has become worse by my husband's constant absence since he works in Mombasa. Since last year,the situation became so bad when the family feud escalated to physical violence and verbal abuses.This prompted me to relocate my family to my current place of residence which is a borrowed parcel of land from a good Samaritan who saw our plight and took pity on us.