GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Newsfeed > Pamela's Profile
Pamela's family
Subsistence farming
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
Follow to be updated on Pamela's next check-in.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 7 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I extended my main house from 19 iron sheets to 39 iron sheets at total cost of 20000 KES and I paid a deposit for a second hand motorcycle with the remaining 30000 KES.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I can never go minus a breakfast since I am now having my own motorcycle which generates for me more income, a big difference in my daily life.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time almost 8 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent 4500 KES of my token payment on a mattress, 3000 KES on a sack of maize and the remaining 2500 KES on clothing for my household members.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to buy a second hand motorcycle and expand my main house using my upcoming lumpsum payment.
access_time 8 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I plan to spend the transfer buy a boat that we will use for fishing. I also plan to spend the transfer to construct a kitchen and a toilet.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that I have been able to construct my own iron roofed house. I managed to do this from my savings.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I have faced in my life is during drought where it has been difficult to get water both for domestic use and for livestock. We trek long distance to the Lake to fetch water and this takes a lot of time.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of the day is in the morning when am in my farm weeding. I feel very happy because its my dependable source of livelihood.