<#% elsif current_page? controller: 'newsfeed' and not current_page? action: 'show' %>
chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Mary's Profile
Mary's family
Mary
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Tailoring
faceAge:
38
homeHousehold Size:
9
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Mary's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent much of the transfer on buying iron sheet, timber,nails, iron door and windows and built an iron roofed house. I also paid 2,000KES school fees for my child.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
My house is more spacious and more presentable with good seats inside, and thst makes me feel comfortable.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent the whole of my token payment on buying cushions for my chairs.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to spend my upcoming lumpsum payment on expanding my house.I also want to buy a goat.
 
Enrolled
access_time almost 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I have planned to buy some chairs for my house,I will build another house that is big enough.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The proudest achievement is that I have taken care of my brothers since my parents passed away. I have taken them to school,one is in the university and another is operating his own tailoring shop in kisii town. I have done all this through farming.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship is that I still have some siblings of mine who depend on me and am not stable enough to support all the needs of my siblings and my own children.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when I have a lot of harvest,which normally helps me in settling some bills that I have.