GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Josephine's Profile
Josephine's family
Subsistence farming
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
Follow to be updated on Josephine's next check-in.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I cemented my house at 20,000 KES. I bought chairs and a bull both at 18,000 KES. I also paid 7,000 KES school fees.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that I've cemented my house. Previously I lived in a mud-house whose maintenance was quite demanding. Also, I currently have new acquisitions such as chairs and a bull.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
l spent the transfer on buying bedding , l also bought food for the family.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
l plan to plaster my house , l also plan to buy seats and to pay school fees.
access_time 6 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
We plan to use the transfer to pay school fees. We also plan to build a toilet and buy furniture. We plan to use the remaining balance to renovate the house and also start a small business.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement that makes us proud is that we have managed to settle down together as couples and we are a happy family.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that we have faced in life is food insufficiency. This has always resulted to hunger.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning when am gardening.