GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Jane's Profile
Jane's family
Jane
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
61
workCampaign
Kenya Standard Remote
Upcoming Stage
Preparing Payments
attach_money
 
Follow to be updated on Jane's next check-in.
 
Enrolled
access_time 6 months ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
Receiving this money will improve the living standard of my family. I use my house as a kitchen during the day and use it as a bedroom and share it with my two girls during the night because of its small size. This is a challenge because I cannot accommodate my guests whenever they visit and I am forced to welcome them under a tree. I plan on building a bigger one so that I can be able to host my guests, have a room of my own, and my daughters can have their privacy. On top of that, I plan to buy a dairy cow so that it can be a source of income. I do not have a source of income because of the state of my body and I have to rely on my older son.
What is the happiest part of your day?
I had a good harvest last season that I sold and got KES 10,000. I used all of this amount to pay my son's college fees and it brought me joy and relief because he can continue with his education without worry.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The challenges that I have is having a comfortable place to stay and paying college fees for my son. I used to do casual jobs around my home until when I injured my leg. The injury upon healing could not allow me to continue with the jobs and I had to do farming at home. The money that I get from farming is less compared to the amount that I got while doing casual jobs. This has made it impossible for me to balance paying the college fees, building a better house, and feeding my family at the same time.