chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Caren's Profile
Caren's family
Caren
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Tailoring
faceAge:
45
homeHousehold Size:
5
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Caren's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
l spent the transfer to buy cow at 20000 kshs, l also paid fees of 10000 kshs to my child in secondary school, the remaining balance l spent to start hotel business.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
My life has really changed because l have started business of hotel so l get my daily income it.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I paid 5,000KES school fee for my son in high school, used 2,500KES to bring back my fallen fish business then bought a 20 liter jerrycan of oil for my fish business.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
We had planned with my husband to buy two cows then use the rest of the money expand my fish business.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 5 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I would like to use part of the transfer to buy two cows to act as security incase of any emergency. Secondly l would wish to buy building materials so that we can build a permanent house since our house is small and temporary. Finally l would like to pay school fees for my child in high school.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievements are that we have struggled to educate my children. Secondly we have worked hard and bought cows which we sold when we had problems.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship in life is lack of unreliable source of income to support my family.
What is the happiest part of your day?
My happiest part of the day is in the evening after selling fish and getting some money to support my family.