chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Caroline's Profile
Caroline's family
Caroline
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Other
faceAge:
39
homeHousehold Size:
6
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Caroline's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($497 USD)
access_time over 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I bought a solar panel and a wet cell at 14,000 KES and 13 iron sheets at 8,450 KES. I also paid 20,000 KES school fees and spent the balance on cushions, utensils and food.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I have improved my lighting system in the house through the acquisition of a solar panel. I previously used a tin/ kerosene lamp.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time over 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent my token payment on repairing my chairs and paid school fees.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to spend my upcoming lumpsum payment on buying building materials(iron sheets,windows and a door).I also want to pay school fees for my child.
 
Enrolled
access_time almost 4 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I plan to spend my transfer in buying household items including new furniture, mattress and I also plan to buy iron sheets for roofing my house together with windows. I plan to pay school fees for my children with the transfer.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am proudest of is being able to struggle with the little cash that I have to pay fees for my child who is in secondary school who next year will be joining form 3.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face is raising school fees for my children.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is doing my household chores and ensuring my house is clean.