GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Newsfeed > Emily's Profile
Emily's family
Subsistence farming
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($476 USD)
access_time almost 8 years ago
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I spent my second transfer on buying a set of chairs.I also bought a cow,1 sack of maize,utensils,clothes and paid school fees for my children.
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
I have a new goal goal of expanding my business.
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life different than it would have been if I never received the transfer because I have a plastered house and windows in it.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($497 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I am planning to spend my first lumpsum transfer on plastering my house and fixing windows.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that I have a grocery business which gives me income.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I paid 3,000 KES fees to my son in academy school. Bought some blankets. I also purchased foodstuffs for family consumption.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to enlarge my house because it is too small. I hold a plan of cementing both the walls and floor of my house. I've a plan of building a pit latrine.
access_time over 8 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I have planned to build my house,a kitchen and pay school fees for my children
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The proudest achievement is that am taking care of my children on my own
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship is that I am not well and fending for my family is not easy
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when am with my friends