GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Newsfeed > Phoebe's Profile
Phoebe's family
Subsistence farming
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
Follow to be updated on Phoebe's next check-in.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 7 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I built an iron roofed house. I also bought school uniforms, clothes.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference is that my children could regularly be sent home over fee arrears, but they have since been settled. I had a small house but now I have a spacious one which can comfortably accommodate my guests.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time almost 8 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
l bought bedding , l also bought caution for my seats . l bought food and 2 bag of maize
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
l plan to build a house .
access_time 8 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I have the plans of building a new house since this one is small.I would like to save the rest in order to educate my children.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
I am proud of being able to educate my children given the fact that I am a widow and I also don't have a proper source of income.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
Lack of sufficient food that can sustain us for a month is the biggest hardship I can say I am facing currently.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning when having breakfast with my children while asking them the plans that they have for the day.