GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Oguma's Profile
Oguma's family
Oguma
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labour
faceAge:
40
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Oguma's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spend my second transfer on finishing my house 20000KES,bought furniture 1000 KES and paid dowry 20000KES.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that i paid dowry.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I bought a set of seats @5,000KES and and spent 3,000KES on buying sand for cementing the floor of my house. I spent the remaininng 2,000KES on groceries and food.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I plan to cultivate my piece of land, pay school fees for my children, buy cement and cement the floor and walls of my house.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend my transfer on building a bigger shelter and furniture, also buy livestock to be able to do ox ploughing, to start a business which will be run by my wife and spend the rest on paying school fees for my children.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest Achievement was when I worked hard as a casual laborer in farms and I bought livestock.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest harship I face in my life is that am partially blind and am HIV positive so sometimes my health is not good and yet I am not financially stable taking care of my family is challenging.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when am able to raise money after my casual work and Carter for my family's needs.