chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Safari's Profile
Safari's family
Safari
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labour
faceAge:
39
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
53150 KES ($530 USD)
access_time 12 days ago
check
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life is now different in that I can now comfortably support my family financially and I can also pay school fees with ease from my business that is doing well of late.
In your opinion, what does GiveDirectly do well, and what does it not do well?
Give Directly has done well in giving me the resources to build a better house and to expand my business. I now have a better house and my business is doing well because of the motorbike that I bought. I have seen nothing wrong that Give Directly has done.
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent my most recent transfer to purchase a motorbike. I purchased this motorbike to expand my business. I sell clothes at the local market, which is quite a distance from my home. I normally use a bicycle to transport my clothes to the market for sale, and back to my home in the evening. Riding a bicycle was tiring and it was also a slow means of transport at times. I bought the motorbike to assist me in transporting the clothes to the market faster and also as a less tiring way to arrive at the market. I now arrive at the market on time unlike before, and I end up selling a lot also as I am never as tired as I used to be before.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($539 USD)
access_time 3 months ago
attach_money
 
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that previously I could do farming on small scale due to inefficient tools. Now that I own this pair of oxen, I am happy since I know that it will enable me to increase my acreage, I am quite sure of a better harvest and this will provide food security for my family.
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
The moment I received an SMS indicating that I had received money from GiveDirectly, I was filled with happiness and we had to celebrate as family. I have been a charcoal burner for so long and receiving this money brought peace into my family as we no longer lack some of the basic things we need.
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent part of my first transfer to purchase a pair of oxen for ploughing my farm. Our area is faced with a problem of unreliable rainfall and early preparation is always a priority to every farmer. I am happy the oxen will enable me to do so and be able to increase my acreage of cultivated land since I used to till a small piece of land due to inefficient farm tools and techniques. The house that I was living in was in a bad condition because it was a grass thatched house and in times of rains then I would be in a big danger together with my family as it was raining inside. With the Givedirectly money, I was able to purchase iron sheets and other building materials which I used in constructing my own house which is spacious enough for me and my family.
 
Enrolled
access_time 4 months ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
Two years ago,I started a second hand clothes business from which the profits would be adequate to buy food,pay school fees and cater for any financial need that would arise.Unfortunately, I lost my working capital mysteriously on my way to pick the bales in Mombasa in May 2018.This forced me to venture in charcoal burning which currently can not generate enough money to feed and educate my children.Receiving this money means I will revive the second hand clothes business and hopefully regain my financial stability and provide adequately for the basic needs of my family.
What is the happiest part of your day?
My day starts as early as 5:00am.when I set out on a bicycle with a bag of charcoal in search of market at Mariakani.In the evening,I ride back home with food bought using the profits.My happiest part of the day is therefore in the evening because it is at this time that my children welcomes me home from the market with all smiles after an assurance that they have food for super.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I have faced in life is food insecurity.This is because I have a big parcel of land that I would want to cultivate but it is not productive and the rains are unreliable too.In addition,there are no economic activities within the location and even the charcoal business that I operate needs me to travel to Mariakani for market.As such,I spend so much on transport and the remaining amount can not sufficiently cater for food forcing my family members to go hungry.