GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Silvia's Profile
Silvia's family
Silvia
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Other
faceAge:
24
workCampaign
FSD / Urban Youth
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($495 USD)
access_time almost 5 years ago
check
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life is currently different from the way it would have been had I not received the money in that I'm now self-employed. This is because I used the previous transfers to open up a salon business by renting a premise and buying equipment where I get an income to sustain my financial needs. I do not struggle anymore as I used to. The little I get is enough to meet my daily demands and I know for the future, I will develop the business and will help me and improve my financial status.
Do you have any new or additional goals for your life?
Currently, I have an additional goal of saving more money so that I can construct my mother a decent iron-roofed house at the beginning of next year. I would not want her to continue staying in a leaking co-wife's house. I would want her to have her own.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
Currently, we do not have a home neither do we have a piece of land where we can construct a home. I, therefore, saved a bigger portion of the money so that when my mother gets some money she'll top up and buy a piece of land where we'll construct a house. The house we are staying in currently is small and the roof is leaking at the same time so I paid for building materials to build a bigger house for our family and will allow my mother move into the new house when it is finally constructed. I also bought new bedding and seats to replace the old worn out we had. Right now we can sleep comfortably and enjoy our sleep even during the rainy season because of the new bedding.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
36800 KES ($365 USD)
access_time almost 5 years ago
attach_money
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life has really changed. Now that I can afford to pay for my brother's school fees and even buy a TV for my house, these were but just a dream initially before I started receiving the transfers. I can pay my rent in time and even afford three meals in a day to God be the glory.
Do you have any new or additional goals for your life?
I am looking forward to expanding my saloon and adding other beauty products. It can become a two in one shop for the ladies where they can get their hair done and still buy beauty products, women dresses, clothes, and even shoes. An all stop shop as I would call it.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
Upon receiving my recent transfer, I boosted my saloon business. I bought different types of equipment to help me improve my services. I bought a facial steamer, this has seen the number of customers increase specifically for that service. The remaining amount I bought a Television, paid my brother's school fees and managed to save some amount for future use.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
20000 KES ($200 USD)
access_time 5 years ago
attach_money
 
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
My mother divorced my father when I was still young. This has made her a breadwinner for my family and we are all living here in Mathare. I am now planning to use my third transfer to buy a plot for her at her rural home because plots are still cheaper there. Most children who grew up in slums do not finish their studies especially ladies because of early teenage pregnancies. Due to this, I am planning to relocate from Mathare so that my daughter's education will not be ruined.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
Before GD came, I used to do hairdressing along the streets. I am now happy since I have been able to buy some items needed in a saloon. I believe that by the end of this month I will have opened my saloon business. With this, the number of customers I will be getting on a daily basis will increase. This will lead to an increase in my daily income and I will start helping my mother in paying some of our bills.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I studied hairdressing in college and I have only been doing this work along the streets. When I received my recent transfers, I used part of it to buy some necessities needed in a saloon such as a sink, blow drying machine among others. I decided to start by buying these items so that I will use my next transfer to open a saloon. Since my mother has always been the one paying our house, I decided to give her a helping hand by paying one months rent. When GiveDirectly selected my group as among those who will benefit from its transfers, I knew that it was all Gods deeds. This is why I spent part of my money as a thanksgiving to God by tithing. After my mother divorce with my father, my brother did not come to live with us. I decided to send him some amount so that he would use them to buy some of his basic needs. I used the remaining amount to pay a debt I had so that my mind would be at ease knowing that I owed no one.
Describe the moment when you started receiving transfers. How did you feel?
It was in the morning when I had just woke up when I received my money. At that moment, I became so happy since I knew that this money would help me accomplish my dream of starting a saloon.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 5 years ago
 
What do you plan to do with the cash transfer?
I will first prioritise saving this money because this will buy me time to budget well in detail on how I can have a long term plan of using this cash wisely. In addition, saving helps me plan for emergencies. Going by the slum environment, distasters happen at anytime like fire breakouts. This will help me pick up my life in the case of misfortunate events due to the emergency plans I will have created earlier through the savings. Secondly, I have a desire to start a salon business. This is what I have studied for and have a passion in. I would like to put my skills in practise and earn a living through it by the income generation I expect from the business. Thirdly, I would like to support my brother through school by paying his school fees just to clear any stress burden or excuses of him not working hard or going to school due to lack school fees.
Describe your biggest worry.
My top concern is my family because I would love to change our current lifestyle. Slum environment isn't the best place to raise my son in due to the bad mannerism, gangster life and danger risks that always glare at us. I would love to put my family in a secure environment with better living standards so that i can be at peace knowing they, especially my son has a better chance at a good and worthy life.
What are your greatest ambitions?
I would love to be a cosmestologist/ beautician. I have passion in hairdressing and it's my joy to make ladies look smart, feel beautiful and confident about themselves and know that its all my effort. By achieving this dream, I will be able to change the mentality of people in my community about hairdressing job. To help them realise that, it is a worthy course and they shouldn't look down upon the job for one can make a living out of it and be successful.
Describe your usual day. How do you spend your time?
My day begins with me preparing my son by grioming him up, i also clean up, we take breakfast together, clean the house thereafter and we head to my mothers shop to help her out with her groceries selling duties. In case there is dirty laundry at home, I return most of my evenings to wash them, prepare supper and retire to bed. For my free time, I love practising my hairdressing skills hence i scout for any friend I can plait and do their hair.