GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Hellen's Profile
Hellen's family
Hellen
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Small business
faceAge:
31
homeHousehold Size:
8
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Hellen's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
This is how I spent my first lumpsum transfer: 3500 KES on a mattress and 3500 KES on motorcycle spare parts. I built a semi-permanent house of 35 iron sheets with 40000 KES and I saved the remaining 3000 KES.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I was initially living in a house with its walls made of iron sheets which was hotter and more vulnerable to fire outbreak and riskier to our health, but when I got transfers and build a better house, I noted the biggest difference in my daily life.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent 4200 KES on 8 iron sheets, 2 blankets at 1200 KES, shoes at 500 KES, clothes at 1000 KES and started a fruits business at 2000 KES
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I plan on building an iron roofed house.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 8 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
We plan to build a house, buy furniture and beddings and to boost our business.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement am proudest of is doing business. I deal in fish business. Thos has enabled me to provide basic needs for the kids. I am a proud mother.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I face is the need to build a house. I live in a single roomed tin walled house, which during the day is burning hot and too cold at night.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning when cleaning up my house and compound.