GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Lucy's Profile
Lucy's family
Lucy
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
39
homeHousehold Size:
6
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Lucy's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I used the first lumpsum in paying school fee at 8000 KES, catered for funeral expense for my late brother at 10000 KES, 25000 KES spent in buying iron sheets spent the rest on food.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I already have iron sheets which gives me the hope of soon building iron roof house.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I paid secondary school fees for my daughter at 6000 KES and I spent the rest of the token payment on her boarding requirements such as uniforms.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to construct a semi-permanent house using the upcoming lumpsum payment.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
We plan to build a new new house. We live in a leaking dilapidated grass thatched house. We also plan to expand on farming like renting a plot of land for a planting season, that means more produce.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement am proudest of is educating my eldest child to form four level through savings from casual labour. I feel proud about this because it's been a struggle to get money for school fees.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship we face now is lack of school fees. Our daughter was to join form one, but due to lack of school fees she hasn't.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning when I go to farm.