GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Newsfeed > Dennis's Profile
Dennis's family
Casual labour
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
Follow to be updated on Dennis's next check-in.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time almost 8 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent the transfer on buying 20 pieces of iron sheets ksh 12000, poles 30 ksh 4500,nails ksh 1400,round poles 27 ksh 4050, sand ksh 6000,steel door ksh 6500,2 windows ksh 6000,school fees 1200, labor ksh 3000 and used balance meals.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference i have seen in my life is that i am soon moving to a semi permanent because of GD .
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I paid 2,400 KES fees to my four children in primary school. Invested the rest in tomato business.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to build a new iron roofed house. My current house is too small to accommodate my entire family. I'm also planning to build a pit latrine. Currently my family answer their calls of nature in the nearby bushes.
access_time over 8 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
We have planned to rebuild our house and set up a small business. I will also take my children to school,I have not been able to because I can't buy school uniforms for them
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The proudest achievement is that I built my house by doing road construction
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship is that am not well health wise. We also don't have proper income and meeting our daily needs is difficult
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when am working and I know that my children can go to school