chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Peris's Profile
Peris's family
Peris
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labour
faceAge:
26
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
53150 KES ($510 USD)
access_time 2 years ago
check
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
We have never owned a cow ever since we got married. We made it our first priority when we received our first transfers from Give Directly. Our expenses have now reduced because we no longer buy milk. We instead sell the surplus which has enabled us to buy other livestock such as goats and also chicken. I thank Give Directly for supporting me and enabling me to acquire these assets
In your opinion, what does GiveDirectly do well, and what does it not do well?
To me, GiveDirectly did their job perfectly in our area as most of us depend on casual jobs to earn money for daily expenditure. To me, I had never handled such an amount in my life. In my opinion, Give Directly did a perfect job in our area. Most of us depend on casual jobs in order to cater to our daily expenditure. It is usually a hectic source of income since they are tiresome and non-predictable. Our livelihoods have indeed changed as a result of this financial support in our community.
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent part of the second transfers I received from Give DIrectly to purchase a dairy cow. Ever since I got married we had never owned a cow. We have been buying milk for a long time now which is usually very expensive. I am glad because we now have our own cow. At least we will now reduce our expenses since we will now be getting free milk. Apart from that, I also spent some amount to buy furniture, mattress and feeds for my livestock. Lastly, I used some of the remaining amounts to purchase a solar lighting system. This will save us from buying kerosene which is usually expensive and not environmentally friendly.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($539 USD)
access_time almost 3 years ago
attach_money
 
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that my children nowadays sleep at home unlike before as I now have a bigger house. This makes me happier and I also know that whenever I have visitors, I am assured that they are comfortable as they will be seeping in our own house as opposed to before.
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
On that day, the battery of my phone was empty thus I was offline. When I woke up, I realized that so many people in my village were heading to town on that day. After making some inquiries, I was informed that people had received the money they had been waiting for from GiveDirectly. After borrowing a phone from one of my neighbors, I realized that I was not exempted. At that instant, I was filled with happiness and I rushed back home so that I could share the good news with my family. Since I could not go and withdraw my money on that day, I continued with my daily activities while singing as I could not hide my joy and the only way I could express it was through singing.
What did you spend your first transfer on?
When I received my first transfers, I spent a good amount from it in building a house for my family. Initially, the house I was living in was small as it was two rooms. One room acted as my bedroom with my husband and the other as a kitchen and living room. My children used to sleep at my neighbor's house since they never felt comfortable sleeping with us under the same roof and I was never comfortable with the whole idea. I spent the remaining amount in buying a goat so that I can keep it after they have increased in number, I can seel them and use the money I will get to buy a cow.
 
Enrolled
access_time 3 years ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
Receiving this money means alot to me. I will be use the money to build a new iron sheet roofed house as well as buy dairy cattle and rear poultry in my farm
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning when i wake up. This is the time i thank God for the good health He has bestowed upon my family and this gives me joy.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
Poverty is the biggest hardship i have faced in my life. I don't have a stable source of income hence i struggle alot in providing for my family. I do tedious casual jobs which in turn affect me healthwise hence this is a great challenge to me.