chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Moses's Profile
Moses's family
Moses
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
35
homeHousehold Size:
4
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Moses's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($492 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent my first lumpsum transfer on paying off a loan.I also bought a set of chairs and paid school fees for my child.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that I can stay in my house comfortably after clearing my loan I took to build a house.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I used the entire transfer to repay loan we(my spouse and I) took from Kenya Women micro-finance.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to establish my own home with a portion of the transfer. I'm also planning to purchase some furniture with the remaining amount.
 
Enrolled
access_time almost 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
We have planned to use the transfer to buy furniture and also to buy maize. I also plan to use part of the transfer to pay school fees for my son in school. I also have a loan of Kshs. 25,000 which I used in building my house. I plan to use part of this t
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement that I am proud of is that I have managed to build iron-roofed house. In the past, I used to stay in a small grass thatched house but I managed to build a new house and am proud of it.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I have faced in life is that I haven't gotten a steady source of income that can enable me to support my family.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest of my day is in the evening especially when I have managed to get a meal for my family.