chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Monica's Profile
Monica's family
Monica
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Motorcycle or bicycle taxi
faceAge:
20
homeHousehold Size:
4
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Monica's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($494 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
We bought 30 iron sheets for 21,000 KES, a steel door for 7,000 KES, three windows for 10,500 KES, poles for 4,500 KES, nails for 6,000 KES and paid 5,000 KES as labour charge to enlarge the house. (added money from other sources)
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I have been able to enlarge my house and so it is spacious enough to hold my family and our belongings.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent 4,000 KES to construct a pit latrine and 5,000 KES to do repairs in my house.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
We are planning to start a business ( fish selling) and also to open a shop and stock with household items.
 
Enrolled
access_time almost 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
We are planning to build a bigger house because this one is small. We are also planning to add more stock to our shop so that we don't run out of stock.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is being a shop keeper because I've learnt how to manage this business and it's very successful.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
Our biggest hardship is that we have a lot of responsibilities but we don't have a proper source of income.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when I'm relaxing with my friends in the afternoon after I have finished all the household chores.