chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Rispa's Profile
Rispa's family
Rispa
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Small business
faceAge:
58
homeHousehold Size:
6
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Rispa's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent 20,000KES to sink and construct a borehole, bought seats @15,000KES, and a cow @12,000KES. I spent the remaining 3,000KES on food.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I now have no problem getting water for domestic use because I have a borehole in my compound and my visitors can now sit on seats unlike before when I did not have any furniture.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I paid 6,000KES school fee for my two daughters, used 3,000KES to start a fish business.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I want to dig a bore hole and then use the rest on school fees.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 5 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend my transfer on expanding my business of selling fish by buying more fish that I can sell at the shores of Lake Victoria, I will spend part of the transfer on paying school fees for my two kids who are in secondary school and the others who are in primary school, I will use part of the transfer on digging a borehole so that I can have water for use in my compound and the remaining amount I will spend on renovating my house and part of it will go to building a toilet.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement that I am proudest of is that I have been able to take my child to school up to university using cash that I get from my savings in our table banking scheme.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face in my life is that I am a widow and unlike in the past when my husband was alive and we could share responsibilities at home, now I find myself doing everything alone and it is not easy as my income is very low.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when I go to the market in the morning to sell fish and I manage to get customers for that day, I see it as a blessing as I am able to get money that I can use to support my family with hence this makes me happy.