<#% elsif current_page? controller: 'newsfeed' and not current_page? action: 'show' %>
chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Thabnu's Profile
Thabnu's family
Thabnu
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labor
faceAge:
43
workCampaign
Kenya Standard Remote
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Thabnu's next check-in.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($489 USD)
access_time 2 months ago
attach_money
 
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
It was around 9am when my helper and I were in the field making some charcoals for sale when I received a message in my phone. Since I do not know how to read, I gave the phone to my helper so that I may know what kind of a message had been sent to me. My helper jumped in happiness and told me that the KES 55000.00 transfer from GiveDirectly had been sent. I also jumped up and down and forgot that I was extremely tired due to the exhaustive work I was doing. I felt energized and carried on with the charcoal making process in full strength.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
Initially, we were living in an old congested house thus no privacy between the children and us. But after getting the first transfer, we are constructing a good spacious house which will be ideal for everyone’s privacy. In addition to that, currently we have a good access to food not as before when we used to struggle and sometime our efforts were bearing no fruits hence sleeping hungry after a long day in the field struggling for a living.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
Upon withdrawing the money, I bought 10 iron sheets for KES 9000.00 with a plan of building a new house since the one I had was old and very small. Thereafter, I bought a bicycle and a water tank of 300 liters capacity for KES 10000.00 and KES 3000.00 respectively. The bicycle aids me in fetching some water while the tank is for storing water. I also paid KES 15000.00 school fees for my 3 children who were ever being sent home for fees. After settling the things I had prioritized, I saved the remaining amount for food and water for the family.
 
Enrolled
access_time 3 months ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
Feeding my family has always been a problem since the death of my husband. I tend to buy 2 bulls and a plough so that I can be able cultivate a big farm. This will bring food security and I can cultivate other people's farms at a cheaper price and get revenue.
What is the happiest part of your day?
Waking up safely every morning with my family brings me joy. This gives me hope for a better tomorrow every day I prepare them for school.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
I lost my husband 1 month ago. I was left with children to take care of. I have to provide all basic needs and pay school fees, this has really challenged me to the extent of burning charcoal to cater for their needs.