chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > David's Profile
David's family
David
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Motorcycle or bicycle taxi
faceAge:
31
homeHousehold Size:
4
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on David's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent my first transfer on building an iron roofed house.I also bought a bed and a mattress.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that I have a spacious house which accommodates my family well.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I used my token payment to buy iron sheets (8000) and paid school fees (2000).
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to use my upcoming lump-sum payment to build a new house and clear school fees.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 5 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to buy two oxen which will assist me when I am tilling my farm as I already have a ploughing machine. We are also planning to buy materials which will be used to enlarge our current house.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is having saved quite a substantial amount of money that I get from my motorcycle taxi and these savings have helped quite a lot whenever my family needs anything or an unexpected expense arises.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face right now is lack of a sustainable source of income for myself, my motorcycle taxi is not very profitable and sometimes I get very few customers, this means that my family has to sustain themselves on only one meal a day.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is around midday especially when I have just completed a well paying job.I am usually very happy because I am confident that my family will have a good, nutritious meal in the evening.