chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Manasseh's Profile
Manasseh's family
Manasseh
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labour
faceAge:
57
homeHousehold Size:
4
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Manasseh's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($497 USD)
access_time almost 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I bought sand (7500 KES), iron sheet and nails (16500 KES) poles (2600 KES),school fees (5500 KES) mobile phone for my wife (6000 KES) and funeral expenses (18500 KES)
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference is my life is that I have a bigger house and a super drum to store water during dry seasons.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
Build household items
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
Repair my house
 
Enrolled
access_time 5 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
The first transfer we planning to buy a sleeping matress and super drum for storing water because water is a problem around our place The second transfer we are planning to extend the house and funish it with new chairs The third transfer we are planning
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is my home and my house which I never knew I could have plus I also have a stable family
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship has been when I was diagnosed TB default which I took drugs for eight months and people thought I was dead but I thank God am so much better now
What is the happiest part of your day?
My happiest part of the day is when I wake up in the morning to feed my chicken and they all identify me by this anytime they see me.