GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Newsfeed > Sidi's Profile
Sidi's family
Motorcycle or bicycle taxi
Kenya Large Transfer
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
53150 KES ($441 USD)
access_time over 1 year ago
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
Once I get some money, I am planning to start a shop business where I will be selling first-moving items such as foodstuff. To fulfill this goal, I bought some chicken using the second transfer which I am raring to sell to boost me fulfill my goal of starting a shop. I opted for this goal because shops have quick money which will help me take good care of my family.
In your opinion, what does GiveDirectly do well, and what does it not do well?
Before GiveDirectly graced our village, I was living in a slam-like house. I desired to build a nice house but the little money I got was from hand to mouth. I am grateful because, when I received the first transfer, I fulfilled the desire of my heart. I constructed a nice spacious two-bedroom house to accommodate my family of five. This could take ages to accomplish if it were not for GiveDirectly. I am glad for the organization and I have never seen any fault as far as GiveDirectly is concerned.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
For a while, I had been sleeping on the floor because I had no bed. Getting to purchase a bed was a challenge since I was living from hand to mouth. My main job was making and selling charcoal which was not a reliable source of income. When I got the second transfer, I bought a modern standard bed and a mattress for KES 10000.00 each. I am happy nowadays because I sleep comfortably not like before. I also bought a water tank of 240 liters capacity and nine buckets for storing water. These water storage items cost me KES 4800.00. I did this because we are facing water scarcity in our area. Thereafter, I bought five chickens for KES 1000.00. I aim to rare and sell them after they have multiplied. Since our area was affected by drought, I kept the remaining amount for family use.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($495 USD)
access_time over 2 years ago
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
I felt so grateful when I received my money because we neither had a bed nor a mattress, we used to sleep on the floor on some worn-out clothes to at least offer some comfort. We used to hardly get a meal a day and when we got one, it would be without nothing to accompany it. Therefore getting this money made me feel so happy and grateful.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that before I used to worry about where we would get our daily meals from. We would go the whole day with nothing to eat, and the night too. But thanks to GiveDirectly, I bought food (a sack of maize and beans) that will last us a very long time and perhaps see us through this biting famine in our area.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
The house I built is the one that I spent most of my transfer on. I spent a total of KES26000, which included iron sheets that cost KES16000. I needed a house because before we used to sleep in a borrowed house which used to make me so sad and wish to get my own house which I would have freedom and authority over. Therefore, right now I have a house and our children will never have to sleep in a borrowed house, I am so grateful.
access_time over 2 years ago
What does receiving this money mean to you?
Receiving this money means I will build my own house . My house collapsed during the heavy rain season last year and this house I am living in belongs to my elder brother. I will spend 45,000 shillings to build my own house. I will spend 20,000 shillings to pay dowery for my wife , and the rest I will buy a second hand motorcycle to do business with it.
What is the happiest part of your day?
My happiest part of the day is during the evening when my husband comes home with food, I cook and eat with my family- I have no Budget for breakfast and lunch in my house because my husband has no job; so if he comes with food in the evening, this is the happiest part of my day.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship is when my house collapsed last year while we were sleeping . Fortunately no one was injured but I had to spend several days sleeping outside in the cold and during the day staying with my son in the schorching sun.