GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Christine's Profile
Christine's family
Christine
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
22
homeHousehold Size:
6
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Christine's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time almost 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
We spent 35000 KES of the first lumpsum transfer in paying dowry, bought building materials (cement and sand) at 13000 KES and used 2000 KES to buy utensils.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I am relieved my husband managed to buy dowry to our place something I didn't know would happen in my life.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I bought steel door at 6,000 KES, I also spend 4,000 towards buying window pane.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to drop electricity in my home and open business too.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 8 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
We plan to spend the transfer to construct our own house being that we are staying in someone's house. We also plan to spend the transfer to buy a water tank which we will use to harvest rainwater. We also plan to spend the transfer to pay bride price required by the in-laws.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
Our proudest achievement is that we have been able to buy furniture. We managed to do this from the savings that we made in a local table banking group.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that we have faced in life is that we don't own a house. We stay in our grandmother's house as homeless. This is because we don't have a stable income to build our own house.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the evening when am having dinner with my children. I feel very happy because they are my source of pride.