GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Newsfeed > Linet's Profile
Linet's family
Subsistence farming
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
Follow to be updated on Linet's next check-in.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time almost 8 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
l am planning to build me house so l have bought some building materials such as sand at 16000 kshs, 12 bags of cement at 10000 kshs , steel door at 8000 kshs, l also bought 1 sack of maize at 1600 kshs, l also spend 2300 kshs to pay school fees, the remaining balance am waiting to pay for labor.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
l am eating very well because l bought 1 sack of maize.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I bought family clothes and foodstuffs.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to build a spacious iron roofed house with the coming transfer.
access_time over 8 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend my transfer on renovating my house because the one I stay in is in a bad state and it is almost crumbling, I will use part of it to fence my home as it is open and someone can trespass easily, I will also buy a water tank because our village has water shortage problem and I will use part of it to buy two bulls that I will use to plough my land. I use the remaining amount amount to pay college fee balance for my son who is also my helper.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am proudest of is that I have been doing farming and the harvest has helped my to pay school fees for my children as at times I take maize to school to pay for the fee balance.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face in my life is that am currently a widow and being so, many people trespass on my property and they intimidate me because I am a woman and I cannot defend myself easily.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when my family comes back home in the evening and we are seated together to have supper, I am happy because I can talk to them one on one.