chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Florence's Profile
Florence's family
Florence
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
48
homeHousehold Size:
9
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Florence's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I built a house and paid 10,000 KES school fees. I spent the rest on purchasing bedding, utensils and food.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I currently have a spacious house. I've acquired the items I once lacked for instance bedding and utensils. I've also settled my daughter's college fees.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent my token payment on buying a steel door and fixing it.I also paid school fees for my children.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to spend my upcoming lumpsum payment on repairing my house.I also want to buy 2 cows and buy an oxe plough.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 5 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I have planned to reconstruct my house that has cracks and pay fee for my children
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that I have managed to take care of my children since I was left alone
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship is finding school fees for my children
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part is when I do my casual job and am able to support my family