GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Evaline's Profile
Evaline's family
Subsistence farming
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
Follow to be updated on Evaline's next check-in.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time almost 7 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I plastered the walls of my 3 room house with sand and cement which cost me 30000 KES of my first lumpsum transfer then I spent 15000 KES on a heifer and I paid 5000 KES primary school fees for my children.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
It was initially stressful to keep my children in school due to lack of adequate finances, which used to embarrass me and demean my roles as a mother, but since I received transfers from GD, they have been constantly in school which has made me proud and improved their performance, the biggest difference in my daily life.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time almost 7 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I used a portion of the transfer to pay my 5 children in primary school fees. I also purchased family clothes with the remaining amount.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to cement both walls and floor of my house because at the moment it is earth and requires frequent repairs which is also expensive. I'm also planning to buy a cupboard where I can keep my utensils.
access_time over 7 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
Planning to spend the transfer on pay school fees for my children Planning to spend the transfer on finishing my house Planning to buy at least one or two cows that can act as a source of income through milking and farming in the coming years
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement so far are my children whom I can always see at least I am different from those who really have so much wealth but ni children
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship we have faced in life has been our medical conditions that derail us and drain a lot if funds from us
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day are my mornings when I wake up and able to get a source of income that will pit meals on the table for me and my family